golden slumbers fill your eyes….

 

lying in bed beside her tired little body,

 

her wee hand grasping the locket around my neck

 

i feel calm.

 

looking into her eyes as she watches me sing

 

her beautiful eyes heavy with sleep,

 

slowly closing

 

drifting off to sleep to the sound of the beatles,

 

i am happy.

 

i know she feels safe

 

i have a purpose.

 

to love her

 

and

 

i do

 

i feel it.

 

it’s an actual physical warmth.

 

the emptiness is gone

 

she fills me up.

 

the lyrics i sing are true,

 

smiles do awake her when she rises,

 

she needn’t worry

 

or cry

 

she is surrounded with love.

 

i am proud of her attachment to me

 

the knowledge that i can comfort her

 

gives me hope.

 

knowing that i can soothe her

 

is my ultimate achievement.

 

this wonderful little person

 

loves me

relies on me

 

wants me.

 

there is no greater feeling.

 

i could wrap my whole life around her

 

and

 

be

 

happy.

4 Responses to “golden slumbers fill your eyes….”

  1. bipolarparent Says:

    hugs, I so wish I could do more xxxx

  2. jenna Says:

    i literally have tears in my eyes. this is beautiful.

    love you.

Leave a Reply

