how wondefrul life is, now you’re in the world

i love that you still call me auntie auntie when you are tired
they way you lift my head to look at the freckles in my head
it’s adorable when you shake your little bum
whilst dancing
how much you love my handbag
and
how you drag it about if it is too heavy to lift

it blows me away
when
you excuse yourself after burping
or
bless me
if i sneeze

you can not imagine how funny it is
to
watch
you boss about thr nig giant dogs
telling them
to
calm down
and behave
& how sweet it is when you pat my head
and tell me good boy
as though
i
too
am a big lumbering pup

it breaks my heart when you cry for me
i hate to leave
when
you’re asking to ahve your shoes on
& saying let’s go.

i am so proud to listen to you
recite your colours
count to ten
name dinosaurs
and
sing your songs
oh, how you love to sing

it makes me feel warm inside
to watch you sleep
feel you little hand grasp mine
the way you sometimes
wake
and
check
i am still there

your sneaky attempts to get out of bed
astound me
such a clever little mind
always noting what works
trying to charm me
if all else fails

your total lack of fear
is wonderful
be it sliding down big schutes
or
wanting to pick up giant spiders

your natural curiosity
and
propensity for joy
gives me a reason to breathe
knowing i can make you laugh
and
squel delight
provide me with purpose

these and so many other things
brighten my days
this is just a tiny snippet
of how amazing you are

believe me baby,
i never understood
how wonderful life was
until you were in my world.

4 Responses to “how wondefrul life is, now you’re in the world”

  1. jenna Says:

    warm fuzzies 🙂

    • doyourememberthattime Says:

      exactly. she makes me feel warm & fuzzy.
      spoke to her on the phone earlier & said she was going to bed in 9mins. she cracks me up.xx

  2. @Clarentino_ Says:

    Awww, this really touches me. How you feel about Athena, is exactly how I feel about my nephew.

    • doyourememberthattime Says:

      i think it’s how everyone should feel about the children in their life. totally in awe & in love with them. my little ones give me a reason to keep going. the give so much more than they ever take.

Leave a Reply

