one day like this a year will see me right…

i went for a walk today.
i’ve been looking after my brother’s dog
&
i took him to the park for a walk with my sister & her dog.

it doesn’t sound like much,
but it was wonderful.

I felt completely at ease
and
entirely safe with my sister.
the dogs gave me a focus beyond my anxiety
their energy,
their joy just to be running around in the grass
was infectious.

it crept up on me
&
before I knew it,
i was feeling good.

the fresh air
the sounds of kids playing
laughing my sister
petting the boys when they came galloping towards us, seeking our approval.
it was all good.

i felt free
my mind was clear
i was in the moment.
it was so refreshing.

it was the reminder that I needed that life can be good.
released from the battle in my head
&
the cage of my painful body.
sometimes, everything can be ok.

today was a good day.
i needed it.

6 Responses to “one day like this a year will see me right…”

  1. Such a lovely post to read. It is amazing what nature can do for us.. Getting out into it… I always feel great when I go for a walk and concentrate on the physical sensations of the air… and the tiny cobwebs on stuff, or the veins on leaves and the colours and the dog and the conversation and all that kind of stuff…
    Thank you for reminding me that I need to get up and go out and get out of my head!!
    I mean it.
    Thank you.

    FF

    • doyourememberthattime Says:

      youre welcome & thanks for reading. i hope you find a little oasis in this shitty desert.

  2. bigdawny Says:

    May you break free and allow it to continue xxx

  3. jenna Says:

    i love that you put this in writing, so on those dark days you can look back at your own words and find hope. ❤

    • doyourememberthattime Says:

      Yush, I really need to remember these good days when the sky is falling in. Xx

Leave a Reply

