you took the life right out of me….

yesterday was the 14th anniversary of my due date.
that sentence scares me.
in 14yrs my loss hasn’t become any less painful.
nor do i feel any less alone with it.

each year I try to put plans in place
distraction.
it makes no difference
it always consumes me.

i can’t stop myself from thinking of the landmarks i’ve missed
last night i lay in bed wondering what it would be like to have a teenager sleeping across the hall
would we constantly battling?
would he hate me?
&
need me simultaneously
could i have raised a responsible young man all by myself?
i really think i could.

i think about first words & first steps
playing him the music I love
watching him discover his own musical tastes.
i daydream of trips to parks
sleepovers
fights about how late he is allowed to stay out.

every year is another milestone i don’t experience
another memory i can’t cherish
there is a gaping hole in my life
no
there is a huge hole in me
and
it echoes in everything i do.

with the build up to each anniversary
i hope someone will remember
i want so desperately for someone else to care about my boy
to imagine how he would have enriched our lives
it would mean so much if someone other than me acknowledged his short, short life.
for anyone to want to remember him.

of course, no one does
and
i don’t have the strength to keep reminding people
it’s just another day to them
no one wants to talk about miscarriage
i don’t think my boy is real to them.

so, i usually spend the day alone
often drinking
crying
piecing together what might have been.

T
this year feels worse
i am running out of time
lately, having a baby has been a continuous preoccupation
i need to be mum
i am a mum
i don’t know if this wound can ever be healed
but
hearing a tiny little person call me mummy would start the process.

i can’t replace my darling boy
he’ll always be with me
but
my arms are empty
&
my heart is so full.

 

 

Beyoncé Heartbeat

6 Responses to “you took the life right out of me….”

  1. Hi,
    I know I don’t know you, but I’m so, so sorry! I’m thinking of you.

  2. Thinking of you lovely lady. I can’t imagine how it must feel, I can only offer you my love and thoughts. I wish I could offer some words, something, just anything. Xxx much love

  3. Hi,

    Know theres probably not much I can write here that`ll be much help….just want to let you know that how you feel about losing him is so natural and am sorry you feel [are] so alone with the pain of grief.

    xxx

  4. Oh I relate. I had a miscarriage during my teen years. I never fully got over it. You never do. I send you strength and hugs. Hugs to get through. Now I cant have any morekids, my ovaries are removed due to tumours being in them. It makes me sad. If you’d like to follow our private blog we have did and ptsd its here if you want to send a request http://multime1980.wordpress.com/ xx

  5. You are loved. xx

  6. jenna Says:

    <3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3

Leave a Reply

